Using Social Media in my Career

Since taking public relation classes at Grand Valley I have gained a better understanding of public relations and how it is used in both corporate and nonprofit organizations. Being a marketing and finance major I never thought about public relations and the various ways it intersects with different areas of business. This semester I have learned that public relations is a critical part of all organizations, and with technology and social media evolving so rapidly the  importance of social media continues to grow and it is likely it will be a part of my career.

Corporations are quickly realizing how important it is to build relationships with stakeholders in order to stay competitive in the market. Social media is a way for corporations to build that relationship with stakeholders for a relatively low cost. Corporations are using Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, and other social media sites to brand their products and interact with consumers on a more personal level (Olsen).

With a marketing degree I am interested in pursuing a career as a brand manager for an international corporation. As a brand manager I would be responsible for leading the strategic choices of a specific brand group across all media (Daye). This will include managing the different social media sites that are used in order to develop the brand image.

In addition to using social media directly in my career, I will use social media as a way to network and interact with other professionals in order to further develop my career. Sites like LinkedIn will help me network and make connections with other professionals in my field and stand out from the competition.

This is why social media is such an important tool for organizations and individuals. It can be used to develop a personal and professional brand, and relationships that differentiate you from the competition.

Daye, D. (Januaray 30, 2012) Brand management: process and responsibilities. Retrieved from http://www.brandingstrategyinsider.com/2012/01/brand-management-process-and-responsibilities.html#.UogL1qWMj7U

Olson, L. (2013, November 7). 9 Interpersonal Skills to Parlay Into Social Media Prowess. In US News: Money. Retrieved from http://money.usnews.com/money/blogs/outside-voices-careers/2013/11/07/9-interpersonal-skills-to-parlay-into-social-media-prowess

Leave a comment